CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL

At a meeting of the **GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE** held at Council Chamber, Priory House, Monks Walk, Shefford on Thursday, 19 May 2011

PRESENT

Cllr Mrs J G Lawrence (Chairman)

Cllrs J A E Clarke Cllrs D Jones J G Jamieson K C Matthews

Apologies for Absence: Cllrs M R Jones (Vice-Chairman)

R C Stay

Substitutes: Cllrs L Birt

Mrs C F Chapman MBE

Members in Attendance: Cllrs P N Aldis D McVicar

Mrs A Barker J Murray
A R Bastable Mrs M Mustoe
R D Berry T Nicols

M C Blair R B Pepworth D Bowater **B** Saunders Mrs S Clark J A G Saunders N B Costin A Shadbolt I Dalgarno N J Sheppard A L Dodwell I Shingler Mrs R J Drinkwater M A Smith P A Duckett Miss A Sparrow

Dr R Egan B J Spurr

Mrs R B Gammons Mrs P E Turner MBE

C C Gomm A M Turner
Mrs S A Goodchild M A G Versallion

Mrs D B Green
Mrs D B Gurney
B Wells
Mrs C Hegley
P Hollick
D J Hopkin
K Janes
N Warren
B Wells
R D Wenham
P Williams
J N Young
A Zerny

R W Johnstone D J Lawrence I A MacKilligan Ms C Maudlin

GPC - 19.05.11 Page 2

- Interim Assistant Director of

Finance

Officers in Attendance: Mr G Alderson Director of Sustainable Communities Mr J Atkinson Head of Legal and Democratic Services Miss H Bell Committee Services Officer Mr R Carr Chief Executive Mrs E Grant Deputy Chief Executive/Director of Children's Services Mrs S Hobbs Committee Services Officer Director of Social Care. Health and Mrs J Ogley Housing Ms M Peaston Committee Services Manager

GPC/11/1 Membership of the Appointments Panel and the Employee Partnership Committee

Mr J Unsworth

The Committee considered a schedule tabled by the Monitoring Officer outlining the nominations from the Group Leaders in relation to the appointment of Members to the Appointments Panel and the Employee Partnership Committee.

RESOLVED

- 1. that Members of the Appointments Panel and Employee Partnership Committee, be appointed as indicated on the schedule attached as Appendix A to these minutes; and
- 2. to note that the Appointments Sub-Committee will be appointed by the Monitoring Officer and will be composed of 3-5 Members (2-4 Conservatives and 1 Liberal Democrat, including at least 1 Executive Member) plus 3 substitutes (2 Conservatives and 1 Liberal Democrat).

(Note:	The meeting commenced at 7.25 p.m. and concluded at 7.30 p.m.)	
	Chairman	
	Dated	

Appendix A

General Purposes Committee Appointments

Appointments Panel (5 Members + 3 substitutes, plus all the Executive Members with specific portfolios)	Cllr Mrs Fiona Chapman (C) Cllr Jon Clarke (C) Cllr David Hopkin (C) Cllr David Jones (LD) Cllr Mrs Jane Lawrence (C) plus Executive Members as below: Cllr James Jamieson Cllr Maurice Jones Cllr Mark Versallion Cllr Mrs Carole Hegley Cllr Ken Matthews Cllr Brian Spurr Subs: Cllr Nigel Aldis (LD) Cllr Mrs Patricia Turner MBE (C) Cllr Nigel Young (C)
Appointments Sub-Committee	Appointed by the Monitoring Officer as needed from the membership of the Appointments Panel. To comprise 3-5 members (2-4 Conservative and 1 Liberal Democrat, including at least 1 Executive member)
Employee Partnership Committee (7 members + 4 substitutes)	Cllr Nigel Aldis (LD) Cllr Ian Dalgarno (C) Cllr Peter Hollick (C) Cllr David Hopkin (C) Cllr Mrs Jane Lawrence (C) Cllr Ken Matthews (C) Cllr Iain Mackilligan (C) Subs: Cllr Mrs Fiona Chapman MBE (C) Cllr David Jones (LD) Cllr Mrs Patricia Turner MBE (C) Cllr Budge Wells (C)

This page is intentionally left blank